Fun Spring Craft

Standard

Last night on the way to Bible Study I quickly stopped by Michaels to get something for a necklace I’m making. While rushing to the cash register, a big metal flower caught my eye. I’ve been trying to come up with a “Spring-y” decoration for our front door, and I knew that this cheerful flower would be perfect. It was $5 and I had a 40% off coupon, so I figured I could “splurge” to welcome in Spring. (Although it doesn’t feel like we’re welcoming in anything, since it has been Spring ever since Fall ended! It is difficult for me to call this season “Winter” when we went hiking without coats on Christmas Eve!)

Although I think the metal looks really cool just the way it is, it was a little drab for my taste. Plus, I do have a name to maintain! (COLORful mama) So I knew that I was going to be doing some painting.

I could have painted the hanging wooden plaque with “Welcome, Spring!”, “Welcome, Friends!” “The Blystras,” “God Bless Our Home,”, etc. But I tend to be more of a “The simpler the better” kind of gal, so I snipped it off with my wire cutter.

I then turned on the Norah Jones Pandora station, lit a candle, and made myself my favorite Chai tea in my favorite tea cup from Anthropologie. (The mood has to be right to do art!)

I knew that I wanted the flower to be mainly red and turquoise, my favorite color combination, but I thought it’d be fun to add a couple of accent colors. So first I painted the center my favorite shade of yellow-mustard, and the petals a happy bright pink. When they were completely dry, I painted over them with the red and turquoise. When the top coats were completely dry, I scuffed up the whole thing with a sheet of sand paper.

I didn’t like the metal hanger, so I snipped that as well and replaced it with a bright orange ribbon.

How can you walk up to this door without smiling? Welcome, Spring!

8 responses »

  1. I love what you made but I have to say that I also love the process you have to get creative! I love listening to that station! Next time I will light a candle and have a warm drink. Maybe my boring black and white living room will improve with some color!

  2. If you need some colorful inspiration, I”d love to come over with my chocolate mints and coffee…..ha ha!:) i hope you had a great birthday dinner at P.F. Chang’s!:)

Leave a comment