RECIPE: Amazing Waffles

Standard

6 days a week, we eat fast, healthy breakfasts. Sometimes I make oatmeal, using the organic oats I buy bulk at Winco mixed with raisins, cinnamon and milk. Or we eat plain yogurt mixed with banana slices, blueberries, strawberries, or whatever fruit we have handy, sprinkled with flax seed, sunflower seeds and natural coconut. Or the kids will eat cereal and I’m very picky about the kinds I buy- only varieties that are low in sugar and high in fiber.

But Saturdays……Oh, how I love Saturdays. Since the kids don’t have school, and nobody has to rush out the door, we’ve made it our tradition to make a delicious, special breakfast on Saturday mornings. I usually have music playing, we enjoy the time together and I’m very intentional about teaching the kids to make whatever we’re having. Now they can both make pancakes pretty much by themselves! With me closely supervising, they pour the batter onto the griddle, and they know the exact moment to flip them! I’m always saying to them, “Someday you can make these for your kids! You’re going to be such a good dad! (mom).”

I’ve already shared my favorite pancake recipe with you, so today I thought I’d share a fabulous waffle recipe. Since I’ve had so much fun with my griddle over the past year, this year when my grandma asked me what I wanted for Christmas, I told her that I’d love a waffle iron. She sent me money for it, and I set to work researching the best one. Lo and behold, I ended up with the same brand as my griddle- Presto. It was rated very high on Amazon, and I’ve been so happy with my griddle, that it seemed like a good choice. And was it ever!

The waffles come out thick, hot, and decadent. Sometimes during the week I find myself craving them and I can barely wait until Saturday! And as something fun, Grace and I tried putting cocoa powder and chocolate chips into the remaining batter after making a few plain waffles, and our “Double Chocolate” waffles were delicious! I’m thinking that I want to try them as a dessert for guests sometime- topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, hot fudge and whipped cream……mmmmmm!

So, here you go!

Classic Waffles

2 C flour

1 Tb sugar

1 Tb baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 3/4 C milk

2 eggs

2 Tbs vegetable oil

Brush the iron with vegetable oil. (I do this before each waffle)

Pour 1 cup of the batter onto the iron

Flip the iron and start the timer for 3 minutes.

Top with butter, syrup, powdered sugar, cinnamon sugar (this is Harrison’s “secret recipe”- butter and cinnamon sugar), fruit…..whatever your heart desires!

Double Chocolate for Grace and me

Enjoy!

Leave a comment